Custom AR-15

Here’s the story of this AR-15. When I went down to my local gun shop I noticed they had a whole wall of AR’s. I never really knew anything about them except they shot .223, atleast the ones that had .223 uppers on them, and that would be nice for woodchucks. I looked at the price of them and started to think. I really wanted to save up for one that was chambered in .223. They had ones with .22 uppers on them but I really didn’t want to get one. The next day I think it was, I told my cousin about them at work. So during lunch we drove down there with our paychecks and checked them out. We both had enough cash to buy the ones that were in .22. I really didn’t want one in .22 but it was too tempting. So we walked up to the counter and said we’d each like to buy one of those AR-15’s with the .22 uppers on them. I think the owner was kind of surprised. So there, I’ve got an AR-15.

We went home and got our ammo and gassed em up and went out around the farm and shot them. We instantly fell in love. My cousin loved how little recoil there was. He shot his 10 round magazine dry in about 2 seconds I think.

So I really wanted something an upper in .223. So I looked up how much an upper would be and soon realized I couldn’t afford one anytime soon. My brother wanted me to put together an AR parts list for him so I could build it for him and he could buy the parts. He realized he didn’t really want to build one just yet because he wanted to work on his bikes. So I looked into how much all the parts would be. I ordered a buttstock and a pistol grip for my AR and then the build started. If Simon hadn’t asked me to look into parts for him I don’t think I would have this rifle done now. About two months later and this AR is done.

Parts:

American Tactical Lower Receiver

Armalite buffer tube

Buffer spring

Magpul CTR OD green buttstock

Hogue OD green pistol grip

DSA upper receiver

Daniel Defense bolt and carrier assembly

BCM gunfighter charging handle with

Colt Ejection Port assembly

DPMS Forward Assist Assembly

YHM Low Profile Gas Block

Daniel Defense 16″ M4 Barrel w/cut rifling

YHM Phantom Flash Suppressor/Comp

High Standard 16″ Gas Tube

Gas Tube Roll Pin

YHM Diamond Free Float Handguard (Specter Length)

YHM Forearm End Cap

Double Star Ambidextrous Sling Adapter Receiver End Plate

Magpul MBUS rear sight

Magpul MBUS front sight

Magpul AFG2

UPDATE:

Finished product. Just recently, not in picture, I installed a Rock River 2 stage trigger.

This entry was posted in Personal guns, Rifles. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Custom AR-15

  1. Pingback: October 9, 2012 | Ideas, Thoughts and Happenings

  2. b2m says:

    Hey! These pictures are awesome, the quality and the blur add a lot and the sharpness make them my favorite weapon pictures I have seen. (and I have seen a lot)

  3. jesseingall says:

    Thank you! Pictures taken by Simon Ingall. His website is simoningall.com. Thanks for reading

  4. suppressor says:

    I need to to thank you for this excellent read!!
    I certainly enjoyed every little bit of it. I have got you book-marked to look at new things
    you post…

    • jesseingall says:

      I don’t really post that often to this site but I occasionally I will. I should be posting soon here with a few new firearms I have. I post a lot more often with new firearms content at jesseingall.com. Thanks for reading!

  5. husker021 says:

    How much did this build run you?

    • jesseingall says:

      I’m not exactly sure but it was a build based around a tight budget. I have a friend that built a great AR for around $800. It’s possible. Take your time to build it. Shop around. You can build exactly what you want on a budget.

Leave a Reply

